horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Set for the Day

Two shots in a row of people round the back of our house, this time without a chicken in sight. Mel's dad came round to help me get the concrete base done for the permanent chicken run I'm putting in. Hired concrete mixer in the back of a hired van and away we go. Got most of it laid before the setting sun beat us to the draw. We're pushing our luck laying it in this temperature anyway, but we really need this done before Christmas. Only a small section left, the concrete for that can be mixed by hand/shovel. And during the week, if I have time in between the next issue of my webazine, I'll start making the actual frame for the run.

You 'aint getting to see any of it till it's finished...

That basically took up the whole day, after getting up about 9am with no ill-effects from the night before, despite a lot of alcohol, and a 45 minute lack-of-taxi-enforced walk home from around midnight. It's as if I'm 21 again and can hack the pace - might as well make use of it while I can (he says, draining the last beer from the fridge safe in the knowledge that there's some wine there that was keeping it company).

Although at 21, not knowing any better, I drank Tennents and thought Miller was the height of sophistication. It wasn't till I started expanding my horizons that I realised there was a whole world of taste and depth out there that it had to be my mission to discover. If I buy 4 or 6 beers for a night there are no two the same. Each one individual. Sure there are some mistakes, but you also find some absolute crackers. I don't drink to get drunk, I drink because I damned well enjoy what I'm drinking (which is why I don't drink whiskey, or even whisky).

And work will be getting a wee treat tomorrow. I may not really like the place that much, but there are some nice people, and when I'm in the mood for something sweet I always resort to baking some brownies. Not just any old brownies, but simply the best in the world. Trust me. Normally made with cherries I decided to defer to it being the first of December tomorrow and went for a slightly more festive cranberry and walnut. The mix tastes divine...

Had thought about using a Frosty Leaf, a Frosty Warthog or chickens enjoying porridge, but in the end the day was really defined by concrete mixing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.