Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Geal Charn

My first solo Munro.  Although I did two more last summer I don't think, at the age of 62 and living in the East Midlands, I'm going to manage to 'bag' more than a handful more in my life... but I can try!

I'm almost at the summit here and, although it's not terribly clear from the photo, the snow on the edges is ready to break away, so I kept well away from it on my journey round the top before descending. 

On the way up I had quite a (welcome) conversation with a guy who was going up the mountains on the opposite side of the valley, he helped me locate a footbridge across the Markie - not marked on the map.

There was a fair amount of snow on the top and there were quite long stretches where I had to kick my steps, but the sun shone, I had the mountain to myself and I enjoyed it!

The extras are on the way up the mountain. 

The Scotland journey begins here, and the Lake District blips will be posted tomorrow... I've got to go to bed.

11.52 miles
1172 feet ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.