Jess & Molly Law

By jml

At sea off Bear Island

The Internet failed us yesterday. It seems that whatever satellite system is used by the 'Boudicca', it cannot be received in Norway's northern fjords. So I will have do do a bit of back-blipping whenever I can next connect.

Today is another day at sea. We had stayed up until after midnight, hoping to catch sight of the never-setting sun. Although we had seen the sun at around 10pm, it had gone behind a cloud by the time the witching-hour arrived. In fact, it was blowing quite a gale and the swimming pool provided quite a sight as the waves in it would sometimes build up to quite a height. A couple of times, as we watched, they threw up a splash which reached up to the deck above! Although I never caught one of these spectaculars on my camera, it was still something to be able to take perfectly clear pictures at that time of the a.m.

At around midday, we passed Bear Island. This outcrop reminded me of the Old Man of Hoy. I wonder if this particular stack has ever been climbed as the Old Man has been?

Once again, the weather seems to be lifting in the second half of the day. As I write this in the ship's library, the skies are showing a little blue. Perhaps tonight we will see the sun 'rise' at midnight?

Don't know, however, when we will be able to blip it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.