R. T. F. M.

If you have ever worked in I.T. or been around someone who works in I. T., you probably know what that stands for.  

I went to Brookside Gardens today and decided to take my 90 mm f/2.8 macro lens only.  There were lots of flowers to shoot and a few flying critters as well, but the critters get quite challenging with the 90 mm lens.  My camera has an APS-C sensor so that is the 35 mm equivalent of a 135 mm lens.  Even so, they tend to fly away if I get too close. 

I came across a beautiful cardinal and immediately was wishing I had my 400 mm lens with me.  That’s when I remembered that if I switched to jpg ( I normally always shoot in raw), I could turn on the digital zoom.  I decided to give it a try.  This was shot with the equivalent of 380 mm.  I have not cropped it at all.  This little insect is very tiny as are the flowers.  In addition, it was quite breezy.  I have added an extra image of a fly on the same flower to give you some perspective on how small this insect is. I was quite pleased with the results. 

My camera didn’t come with a comprehensive manual.  In fact, I was quite frustrated looking for a digital one until WWombat came to my rescue and sent me the digital “Help Guide” which is 453 pages long!  Needless to say, I haven’t read it.  In the course of the 18 months or so that I have had this camera, I have learned how to customize buttons, set up back button focusing and make all the settings quite easy to change manually since I always shoot in manual.  Slowly I have picked up a few other tips, but if I don’t use them regularly, I forget about them. 

So, that leads me to the moral of this story, which is to read your manual and learn what your camera can do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.