Purple

P is for Purple

Continuing the Alpha(Bet) males - The life in my men in my life July challenge.

"Warning" by Jenny Joseph.

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn't go and doesn't suit me
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves.
And satin sandals and say we've no money for butter
I shall sit down on the pavement when I'm tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth
I shall go out in the rain in my slippers
And pick the flowers in other peoples gardens
And learn to spit.
( I can't be bothered to copy out the rest.)

When I was younger I thought this poem rather amusing.
Having read it just now I feel a little sorry for the old lady.,,

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple because
According to my colour image consultant it is one of my wow colours.
I will wear a red hat,
Because we all know what that implies*,
I shall spend my pension on fine wines and ski gloves
I will buy yet more high heeled shoes, with no chance of wearing them for more than half an hour
I will continue to eat butter, refusing to substitute low fat chemical emulsions.
I shall sit down in the road and stop the traffic,
But only when I'm protesting over my current passion.
I will forage for food and scrump the neighbour's apples to make cider.
I don't know the meaning of sobriety.
I won't pick flowers, I prefer them in gardens.
I can already spit, and whistle through my fingers.

P is also for Paul - young, and loved hats - it should have been a match made in heaven.



* Red hat, no drawers!!


P.S. I am hoping to catch up with you all over the weekend, (unless I get a better offer!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.