Happenchance

By KimChristie

Monuments Old and New(ish)

Back in "my" city, however only briefly. I adore Glasgow for all its dichotomies. Its both beautiful and ugly at the same time and some of its most beautiful is because of the ugly.
I lived in the infamous Red Road Court when I first moved to the city and not far from it is Sighthill Cemetery. Something I drove past almost daily but never visited and the thought of going there has been in the back of my mind for a long time. So finally, with an hour to spare before visiting my hairdresser, I finally went there.
It was somewhat less impressive than I had anticipated...dont ask me what I was expecting...!!! Anyway, I was pleased with a couple of the shots because of the distinctive Glasgow highrises in the background as they are such a reminder of my university days (as brief as my encounter with the highrises were). You can see one of these notorious high rises being demolished here in a fantastic shot by the insanely talented Colin Templeton
Anyhoo, if I have more time next time, maybe I will explore it a bit better.... I promise I will catch up soon...if not now, forgive me until August when I should be back in full swing come the second week. Damn this awful internet connection!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.