analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Diamond Award. Leica/Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

The only reason that I would indulge in such shameless horn-tooting is because I can combine the Blip with a funny story.  This is the pin for a service excellence prize awarded by the company for which I have worked for the past nine years.  It is know as a "Diamond Award" and I won it in 2013 completely out of the blue; nobody was more surprised than I, since one thinks of prizes being awarded to the politically skilled rather than folks just doing their job.  One Saturday I did a chest x-ray of a very sick little girl.  Evidently she wasn't feeling any better the next day and her parents took her downtown to Boston Children's Hospital.  I received a call from the physician who was treating her requesting that we send over the chest study from the previous day since they didn't want to irradiate the child again.  At that time we didn't have the technological ability to share imaging with other institutions outside of our firewall. Since Children's is very close to where we live downtown and my shift was just about to finish, I offered to burn the study onto a CD and deliver it to the hospital myself.  Just so there was clarity about how we would do the hand-off, I described myself and our aged green Honda and we agreed we would meet at the entrance to the Emergency Department.  As we were hanging up, he added, "Oh, by the way, I'll be wearing a white lab coat"...  I still don't know if he was serious or not, but it won me the award and made a nice story at the presentation.  Here it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.