Missycat

By Missycat

Mono Monday 118 Diamond

 Diamond
noun
a precious stone consisting of a clear and colourless crystalline form of pure carbon, the hardest naturally occurring substance.

There are  many phrases  related to  this most valued of precious stones:
Diamonds are forever    Diamonds are a girl's best friend  Diamond in the rough  Diamond geezer  Blood diamond   Diamond bright

I do possess several diamond  rings: a rather lovely and large solitaire, inherited from an aunt and two 'eternity' rings from Mr MC, one set with only diamonds, the other with diamonds and sapphires.  I value each of them for their sentimental worth rather than their monetary worth

I had considered photographing one or more of them for the challenge but I find jewellery really quite difficult to capture well, particularly as I don't have the means to try focus stacking. 
As an alternative I have gone to the  polar opposite and present not the Kohinoor,  but its acrylic equivalent in the form of a table decoration (one of a set of 12)  from a well known store!  I'm sure I had you all fooled for a moment!
I have added extra sparkle with effects from Topaz Star Effects.

Many thanks to davidc for hosting this month a setting us such thought provoking challenges

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.