Adam's Images

By ajt

Head Tube

Today has been busy and it's not over yet!

First thing a friend came round. His computer wouldn't read the SD card from his camera, so we tried it in mine. I plugged the card into my SD card reader and low and behold a SD card icon popped up on my desktop and the card was perfectly happy. We then went over to his house and tried the card again in his computer and with my SD card reader. Though it's only a stock 2 GB SD card (not SDHC or SDXC) there were problems with the larger basic cards and it's clear the SD card reader built into his desktop system can't read the larger SD cards - it's about 6 years old. He can sill use a USB cable or buy a cheap SD card reader but the built-in one is not for him.

On the way back I dropped of a kit I borrowed for last weekend's Sheep Fair to a friend and helped (mostly watched) while he stripped his bike down to clean it. Today's blip is a view up the head tube on his bike before he has cleaned it of old grease and put in new. We chatted about Le Tour and the Olympics (he will be one of the many motor bike marshals for the games).

When I came home I fitted the new 1 TB hard disk in an external case and started a backup run of my computer. I then went down to watch Wiggins win today's stage on Le Tour. At the moment the backup process has copied 77 GiB of data to the drive - there is quite a lot to go.

Once the backup has completed, I'll put the 0.5 TB drive that use to be in the external case into my server to replace the 0.5 TB drive that is in there at the moment and is failing. By the powers of clever programming I won't have to do much to make this all work. I tell the system that the current drive has "failed" so it automatically removes it from the RAID array, then add the new one in. It will then spend many hours copying data from the remaining good drive to the new one and when it completes I'll be back to having two copies of everything all the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.