99 Red Balloons

Well....there were far, far more but as the line I think of you and let it go was sung we all released our balloons into the air and thought of Georgia.

Georgia was nineteen when she died, during her third open heart operation,  just over five years ago. Her legacy is Georgia's Children of the World which helps children in extreme need both at home and across the world. Georgia went to the school I worked at, but only in the senior department so I didn't know her well, but it is always heartbreaking to hear of a child dying. 

The G Festival has been held every year since and today Jude and I went along. I'd had a long lie in, mainly googling different places and trying to decide what to do and where to go today. In the end Jude suggested the festival so we went...in the rain. We ate chicken and noodles in a box, we drank a pint, we munched on a nutella crepe, we let the music pound through to our souls and we shouted to make ourselves be heard...it was great. 

As I clutched my red heart shaped balloon a young man came up to me....I couldn't believe it, little George (he's now 18!!!) whom I taught many years ago. He hugged me. His two brothers were there too....Brett and Harry...now 22 and 23...where have the years gone? They hugged me too. Oh, they were lovely boys and now they are lovely, handsome young men. It was so great to see them again. 

As the red balloons disappeared in the sky there were some tears shed by Georgia's family and friends and I think we all thought of those we have lost too....


Thank you for all your kind birthday wishes yesterday :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.