Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

The Bus Journey

The highlight of my day was taking the semi rural teale coloured Arriva bus on a 50 minute journey for a hospital appointment. This single decker bus gave a roller coaster experience and filled my head with vibrations as it wound it's way through country lanes, skirted round supermarkets, down very narrow residential roads, in and out of parked cars, past rows of boarded up shops and rows of Victorian terraces, over two motorway bridges, and finally I descended at Darent Valley Hospital. The car parks were all full and I was glad that I had taken the bus even though I felt as as if I were in a John Betjeman poem.

The other photo is from the bus stop waiting for the return bus looking across the car park towards the QE2 bridge that spans the industrial Thames at Dartford. To the right of the picture you may catch a glimpse of the river.

On another note - the bus stop is by the polling station and I cast my vote for the Kent Police and crime commissioner, an £85000 a year job. Lets hope whoever wins does a better job than the last one. It will be a very low turnout. Any wonder?

Looking forward to hearing the results of the London Mayoral election.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.