No hosepipe ban

It's a brief one - there was window cleaning and later car cleaning. And then Bradley Wiggins won the Tour. I used to watch it when C4 started broadcasting it, but I've not watched it for a few years so it sort of crept up that Robert Millar's great 1984 feat was about to be surpassed.
Actually that took me back to '81 when I rented a room in a big house in Shipley, Sussex. There was a character there also called Robert Millar who was a journalist and had published a couple of books. He was a great bloke and we cycled together (OK, to pubs in the country) and I seem to recall that he'd written a book called 'Yellow Jersey' or was it called "le maillot jaune"? He had high hopes of selling the film rights. Ahem. Anyway, I still have a photo of him with the house's dog (picton) on his shoulders. He's impossible to track down now as googling any of the above brings back far too much crud. Isn't that interesting, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.