Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Fluff bug

Oddities week - day 6

A great start to today's safari, I found the fluff bug that I mentioned a couple of days ago, almost straight away. This is a very difficult subject to photograph as it is in constant motion. Yes, it only moves slowly, but the size of the insect being about 10mm long, means that I have to get in close and suffer the consequences of a shallow DOF. I took sixty shots and came away with only two presentable images.

A very strange creature, it has two long, powerful looking jaws. It doesn't look like it could put a spurt of speed on, so I think it is an insect road kill feeder (best guess), this is backed up by the materials that it uses to build its very effective disguise, bits and pieces of ex-insects. Like I mentioned at the start of the series, you have to examine everything. If the lump of bird crap moves, photograph it!

Other notable goodies that came my way today, another jumping spider, shot from my hand. I also managed to find the crab spider and captured the flip side. Again, no preying mantis showed up today, I am now wishing I had blipped one earlier in the series, with only one day left, I am cutting it fine.

All the extras are in folio if you are interested.

The 'favorites' system is a great idea, but I think it needs changing. If I do my blip session earlier than the previous day, then I forfeit all my hearts for the day. This is extremely frustrating. I would much prefer if the timing of the favorites was from midnight to midnight, this way, no matter what time I decided to do my blip session, I would always have my days quota of hearts to give out. Another way to do it, would be to replenish the favorites when you post your blip for the day. Any thoughts?

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.