Unbuilt.

Since the exhibition is not open at weekends I realised that the only time I was going to be able to see it was this evening. 

So I trotted up to Bakehouse Close off the High Street and spent a very pleasant forty minutes looking at some of the architectural proposals that have failed to be built in Edinburgh. 

I asked the guy at the door if I was allowed to take pictures and he replied 'snap away'. So here is the Forth Bridge proposed by Thomas Bouch. He was the guy who designed the Tay Bridge. The one that fell down killing seventy-five souls. Unsurprisingly his design was not favourite. Though I think it is really quite stylish. 

Other designs included the Sean Connery Film House, proposed for Festival Square. The over and under motor-way proposed for Princes Street. The 'Prince Albert Keep' designed to extend Edinburgh Castle. And my favourite, the Parthenon that was supposed to crown Calton Hill and make Edinburgh an artistic and cultural centre to challenge Glasgow. Unfortunately it ran out of money after only one set of columns was built, thus 'Edinburgh's Disgrace' still stands on our skyline commemorating our war dead. 

Worth a look if you have a spare hour. 

Edinburgh Unbuilt. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.