Today's Special

By Connections

Patchwork

My sister M is a skilled seamstress, and also knits and crochets beautifully -- none of which I have any skill in -- so I was delighted when she offered to make a quilt for me that incorporates the squares you see here and more.

They are from an old worn quilt that was among my mother's possessions. M and I disassembled the quilt when she visited me a few years ago, and every time we've been together since then, we've done a little more to transform these worn squares into a quilt for the 21st century.

We don't know which female ancestor(s) on our mother's side made them, but we treasure their thrift and artistry. Today we went to a wonderful shop where the focus was on helping folks make quilts, where the staff welcomed us warmly and guided us in choosing colors for the quilt's top and bottom, and gave detailed information to M about how to tackle this complex project. She'll be returning there several times as the project progresses.

After a soup and sandwiches lunch, rich in conversation, we went up into the Texas Hill Country to a small yarn shop M liked so I could choose some yarn for her to use to knit socks for me. I don't knit or crochet, but I love color and enjoy perusing the diverse offerings of yarn shops. We spent quite a while there, just as in the quilt shop, and I bought a skein of yarn that bears the name of one of the blippers I follow! That will make a fine emergency blip one day...

There was more to this day, but it's late, I'm tired, and this is long enough!

One last thing -- thanks very much for your warm reaction to yesterday's blip! I very much appreciate that.

Blip 1543

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.