Happy Place!

I spent the day on the allotment and what a lot I got done! Arrived to open the chickens and then tackled the last bit of my flower bed that needed digging. I've made one huge square into quarters, with my sweet pea canes wigwam in the center. I then lined each edge with flower seeds,  Centaurea, Nigella, Asters and Scabious and a  circle of Lupins around the sweetpeas. I plan to grow lettuce and coriander and parsley in the beds themselves with rainbow chard, courgettes  and possibly beetroot! 
I sowed poppy seeds in patches between two of my bean canes, and discovered the potatoes I had put in for Christmas eating last year, which came to nought, have now all sprouted up - so 5 rows of potatoes now! My other potatoes have all come up and have been covered with soil to encourage more setting so they are now in a flat bed, no longer looks as if  bodies are buried! 
After stopping for a cup of tea and a bite to eat I weeded between my strawberries and sowed californian poppies instead! Next job was deadheading the dandelions that have all turned to fluffy white heads! 
At this point had a chat with DJ man who is having another go at keeping a plot - he dug one over last year but never got round to planting, now his children have moved out and he is self employed he has more time to do it - so he hopes! Then another bit of digging in the bed above the rows of potatoes - I'd covered it with a strip of carpet and it made the digging much easier! More flowers planted - Zinnia's and Cornflowers. Time for another cuppa and snack! 
Finally time with the chickens! A little girl who was helping her parents on the plot behind them came running round, so I invited her in and gave her a tin mug of corn to feed them. Her parents came over for a chat. They are new to the allotment and I discovered she is Australian and has  had chickens growing up and as an adult. So  I told her about how the coop ran and asked if she wanted to join! She will talk it over with her husband! She also told me a good tip to break a chicken of it's broodiness - take it for a drive round in the car for ten minutes - it's enough to startle them out of it! So road trip with Polly and Izzy sometime this week it is! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.