Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Home Shopping...

We have some very busy, but lovely, neighbours across the street from us. He's a busy business person who has to get up early to get to far flung parts of the U.K. and back in the same day. She's a ward Sister(if that's what they call them these days) at a busy hospital. She works long hours and sometimes has to do nights. They have two children, both early teens, who need to be ferried to various clubs and sporting events. What time all four of them are together, they like to spend together. Well as much time as teens will allow of course.

I suppose they are typical of hard working people, cash rich but time poor. One thing they don't do is supermarkets. They do the computer thing, ordering online and having it delivered by a local supermarket. On one or two occasions when both parents are out we've taken their delivery in ourselves rather than see it go back to the store and them being without.

They have used a certain supermarket. I'm not keen on this supermarket as the driver doesn't consider other people when doing his delivering. A couple of weeks ago I couldn't get off our drive as he'd blocked us in while he delivered. It would have gone better if I'd been acknowledged but I wasn't. Last Friday the same guy came. This time he didn't block us in but he did run his van across a corner of our lawn to get out. I went all 'Victor Meldrew'.

I was in the kitchen watching what was going to happen. My phone was by me so I took pictures of the van. I phoned the local store and explained what had happened. I asked to speak to a manager but the receptionist told me no one was available. I said I had pictures and either someone can make themselves available or the pictures go on TWITTER in five minutes time with the TWITTER address of the bsupermarket included. I was connected to the store manager. We had a conversation and he assured me he would personally speak with the driver. That may or may not have happened. If it did it would be along the lines of 'mind that awkward b****r across the street next time you deliver.'

I was in the kitchen again when another delivery arrived today. This time is was a TESCO van and this guy can park without blocking and leave without churning up our lawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.