100 km

Today we went for a bike ride. Because we knew that Saturday would be wet and Sunday would be mostly dry, we planned it this way. At 6ish when I woke up I started the washing machine, so it would have finished by breakfast time. Once everything was hung out to dry and we had finished the dishes we set out for our bike ride.

We were less than 10 km into the ride when I avoided a massive pot hole but hit a boulder instead, I had a double pinch puncture, so we had to stop to make running repairs. After that, we had a pretty good run, didn't get lost, saw loads of other friendly cyclists, and completed our 100 km (actually only 98 km) loop round Winchester. We've done the loop before in 2011, but I was 25 kg heavier then and my better half was on a hybrid not a road bike. This time I knew when and how often to eat, and so didn't get tired, sore or grumpy. I was also able to push hard on the hills and so our average today was 22.2 km/h, and we completed the ride 30 minutes faster than I expected.


After the ride we took the laundry in before it was rained on and made a nice banana milkshake. Today's quick blip is a red campion from our wild flower lawn that I quickly blipped while my better half made dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.