The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Peace comes dropping slow

When Google Earth first came along, my sister TML checked out the aerial maps of the different areas where our mother and our five brothers and sisters live. It turned out that no less than three of us lived within 100 yards of a cemetery! Handy for encounters with the dead...

This evening I took myself out and up to Stroud Cemetery. A busy afternoon hadn't left me much time for blipping, and whenever I went out into the garden, CleanSteve came out and started taking photos of me taking photos, so I started snapping in return....

Stroud cemetery is Victorian, created in 1854, with a more recent addition where the new graves are located. Managed as a nature reserve, parts of it are left to grow fairly wild, so that native creatures can flourish. The image I've chosen to blip is not necessarily the most dramatic shot, but I have to confess that I have not yet read my camera manual., so I am not getting the results I want. ( I have discovered that the manual's PDF File is 172 pages long! )

The Celtic cross in this shot reminds me of my mother's home in Argyll, where I hope to be in a month's time. The distant hill is Rodborough hill, on the other side of the valley. As I strolled among the graves, the sun was sinking - in no great hurry - and only the odd dog walker disturbed the calm. The summer air was still, soft, and settled. Tomorrow will still be fine.


P. S.. Some background information from STROUD HILL CEMETERY:
A LIVING CHURCHYARD AND CEMETERY PROJECT
Researched by Clive Burcher 1998

In 1854, the several burial grounds in Stroud had become insufficient in size and dangerous to health and, with the threat of closure from the Secretary of State, a new cemetery had to be created. An extensive site of approximately six acres was purchased from Mr Joseph Watts for the sum of £756.00. The site has extensive and delightful views on the southern slope of Stroud Hill, on the lower side of Bisley Road, and commands superb views of the Cotswold area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and on into Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.