Rievaulx Abbey

Saturday 28th May 2016 (1372)

The last day of our mini break. After packing the car we went for a walk to see Gisborough Priory. The walk across the rapeseed field with a view of the Priory was lovely and the ruins were interesting, worth the visit.

We then travelled to Rievaulx Abbey. I've been on a number of occasions but always love it. As we pulled into the car park I commented that the visitor centre was new since the last time I had been. We then discovered it had only opened 2hrs before and we were in the first 100 visitors! The new museum is great. 

Out of all the photos taken on my camera today I rather liked this panorama taken on my phone! 

We stopped in Kilburn on the way home. Saw the white horse, had lunch in the pub and a quick look in the shop of the Mouseman. There was a rather nice small nut bowl but at £99 I decided against it! 

Back to Leeds and then it was time for us all to go our separate ways. My drive back over the Pennines was lovely in the sun. Back to work tomorrow morning but it is nice to think that Monday is also a day off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.