Trial and Error

By DawnC

Those magnificent men and their flying machines

We went to Lizio today and following an interesting spell in the insectarium and a leisurely plat du jour in the creperie, we happened upon the Univers du poete ferrailleur.

A somewhat eccentric collection of moving sculptures. The gentleman responsible and his daughter run the place and you certainly get a personal service. After we'd been there a while he rounded up all the punters to go and watch a film in the on-site cinema. I wasn't really in the mood so, while the rest of the family went in, I hung around outside taking a few photographs and then paid a visit to the loo (which was in darkness because the power had been diverted to the cinema). When I emerged, before my eyes had adjusted to the light, the daughter appeared and shamed me into going into the cinema. What a delight: a home movie of the inventor making the various machines/sculptures over the years interspersed with poignant scenes of lonely walks into the distance along disused (I assume) railway lines, horses in soft focus, fluffy clouds, and so on, accompanied by dramatic or romantic music as appropriate and English subtitles revealing a commentary in the manner of Eric Cantona. Great fun!

I've been unable to blip until today due to compatibility issues between my camera, my laptop and the Internet reception which is indeed only available in the conservatory and somewhat intermittently at that. Long story but one assuaged by le cidre.

Apologies as my commenting may be a little sparse until our return home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.