Heart and Souled

By DebsP

"Solid to the core"

"Solid to the core" is bale-making perfection. I know this as I've just watched a two and half minute promotional video for farm equipment, and I loved it!
There are five steps to making a better bale but I was a bit disappointed to find, at point 5, "ultimately you the driver are responsible for making a great bale". So much for automation!
Just like a 'weetabix', you want uniform density with a dense core for easy stacking.
Remember folks "a better baler makes a better bale".

They were working in 'our' fields this evening. The dog was most aerated at the new huge green lumps. I patted one to appease her (I don't think anyone saw).

I spotted another 'waste management' lorry today. As it was only called 'Elliot' I thought 'that's crap, not worthy of a blip'. Just so you know, I can do 'discerning'!

Edited Update

As I was walking through the fields I was thinking "what happens to all the wildlife they supported now they're mown?" and worrying that it wouldn't look good. I also realised I knew a man who'd know so I asked Angellightphoto.

If the meadows are correctly managed then there is a very happy ending. There should be two cuts (or grazes) per year. The first in early spring, to remove vigorous species such as bramble and some of the invasive thistles. The second cut should be late July or early August. This allows nesting birds such as Skylarks to breed successfully and for the wildflower seed to set. In both case, it is essential that the cuttings are removed as this stops invasive species taking over and maximises the germination of the wildflowers. While the cut is drying, it is usually turned once. This not only helps make good hay, it also allows more seed to fall through and for insect larvae to move down into the undercut. Of course, some invertebrates will fall foul of the process, but these are quickly snapped up by predators, thereby increasing the biodiversity :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.