... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Emperor dragonfly in flight

This is an Emperor dragonfly, Anax imperator, in flight.
They are spectacular insects: very large with an impressive wingspan, the abdomen is vivid blue, and the thorax and head are green and yellow.
I saw them from afar as I approached Eagle Pond (there were 3 flitting about) and I thought that they'd make a wonderful picture if only they'd stop for a moment. One did stop for a moment, on the island in the middle of the pond... They were always moving (rather fast) and 'though they followed quite regular flight paths, I found them fiendishly difficult to focus on and frame...

I got a few shots with which I was pleased, but, alas, my favourites (well, best captured dragonflies) were against uniform backgrounds, which rather dulled the impact of the picture. I quite like this one with the light catching its wings and reflections in the background, but wish I could have got a closer picture.

I also revisited the tufted ducklings on Wandsworth Common to get my fix of cute leap/diving action; they didn't disappoint.

Thank you for all your kind feedback yesterday: 'twas really uplifting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.