AmandaNaylor

By AmandaNaylor

Change ...

This photo captures a change in seasons, but also heralds a change in focus. I have had my blipfoto journal for 2 and a half years, documenting my time living in New York, returning home to Australia and embarking on my photography business. It is astounding to look back on a photo and have it spark so many memories, or to see the changes in my family over this time.

My business is expanding and I'm honing my skills, but as it grows, the time commitments also increase. I have also signed on as a volunteer photographer for Heartfelt, an organisation that provides a family with photos when their child is stillborn or premature, or their child has a serious and terminal illness. I attended my first session this morning as an observer and learnt so much from the very compassionate photographer, working with such grace with the family at such an emotionally intense moment in their lives. I think the work will be difficult, but very rewarding.

Lately I have felt guilty when so many people have being visiting my journal and leaving comments, but I have not had the time to reciprocate. Sometimes I go on a 'blip bender' and can spend hours travelling the world and getting such a unique and personal insight into people's lives. Through blipfoto I have learnt an incredible amount about photography, travel and the generosity of people. I have met some wonderful characters in different countries, and have also established connections with others online. 

I will still keep my blipfoto journal open and may post something in the future, but for now I need to focus my time and energy on my business. No doubt it will be difficult to wean myself off the blip habit so will still be checking in on your journals and following your adventures.

Thank you for your friendship, encouragement and support .... and for providing such a richly diverse set of journals that have provided me with education, inspiration and a wonderful sense of community. 

Amanda

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.