Have you seen 'er?

What a fabulous tribute to a wonderful lady it was today. Victoria Station was renamed Victoria Wood Station for one hour today...and what an hour it was. I had ordered five yellow berets, but in the end only three of us could go. This didn't matter though because I managed to flog the two berets to a lovely couple who I heard woefully berating themselves for not having thought to get one...win win!

Ellen's husband had said he hoped that she wasn't going to be dressing up....little did he know he he he. She thought she could keep it secret, but everyone...and I mean everyone, wanted to take our photo or pose in a selfie with us. The photographer from The Sunday Express took loads of pics of us so I shall have to buy a paper tomorrow. We were on TV on the local news and Pat was pictured on the MEN Facebook page. It was weird being on the 'wrong' side of the camera.....ha ha ha.

The choir sang the Barry and Freda song, The WI sold Victoria sponge cake...and Victoria lemon cake (which was absolutely gorgeous) and all money raised went to Jessie's Fund, which Victoria Wood was a patron of. Actress, Sue Devaney, hosted and she was fabulous. She sang, she told funny stories, she reminisced, she chatted with us all and posed happily for pics. The Mayor of Manchester spoke (he wished he had a yellow beret...so he borrowed mine whilst he spoke and posed for the cameras). I think Victoria Wood would have approved of it all.

We raised a glass of peach bellini to the great lady afterwards before heading home. 

It was a brilliant day.....except..............on the way to the station I fell (right in the middle of a busy part of town...sigh) and I crashed down on my knees. I can barely walk now as my 'good' knee is agony and my shoulder is killing me where I jarred it. Oh well, the rest of the day makes up for the pain.


Film Star Friday

thank you for all the lovely comments on my entry yesterday, I shall catch up with everyone as soon as I can. There were some amazing pics and I found it hard to judge, but as someone wanted me to place them in first, second and third.....here we go:

1. Paola...and her Jane Austen pic.
2. Ukelelehaley...with 'the kids do Top Gun'
3. Terraldino...and Ghost

All the others were fabulous and are joint fourth...and you couldn't fit a piece of paper between first and fourth. You clever, creative blippers.....



Some other pics of Victoria Station here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.