Ladies Spa Day!

It was heavenly! An hours drive chatting all the way and then we were at Fowey Hall hotel "A luxury family retreat overlooking the Fowey Estuary..." - in other words a place for yummy mummies and daddies and their offspring! Fishing nets and wellie boots at the front door and animal themed childrens umbrellas inside! 
We swam in the pool and relaxed on the sun deck and sat in the hot tub until it was time for our treatments. 25 minute massage which my sunburnt back was fine with and then a 25 minute facial. I wasn't sure I really wanted that and thought I'd ask for another 25 minutes on my back but oh I'm so glad I didn't! 6 different treatments, hot flannel mitts used to cleanse away each one - at one point I fell asleep and woke with a jolt! 
We then headed for the hotel and the terrace for our cream tea but decided we wanted something savoury as both famished - relaxing is so hunger provoking! Spiced soup and a shared Smoked Fowey mackerel pâté - delicious! Feeling replete we moved indoors and chose a cosy place to sit in the base of the turret. The whole area had sofas and gorgeous cushions and vases of lilies that scented the room. I took photos and discovered my dream chair decorated with tulips and peonies and a book on Chihuly who I love. I asked for information on the history of the Hall at reception and was given 6 pages of A4! The hall was built in 1899 and it  said Kenneth Grahame stayed there many times and it is believed the hall was the model for Toad Hall in "The Wind in the Willows" and Fowey ( pronounced as in joy - "Foy"!) described as "The Little Grey Seaport." By this time it was looking grey as mist had rolled in from the sea! 
We finally had our cream tea - lashings of strawberry jam and clotted cream! After a wander round the grounds, where Colourful Mai had a swing and we discovered chickens - we headed home. 
Discovered Friend has radiotherapy Thursday so created a rota on her facebook Little helpers page for someone to be with her for the next 72 hours if needed - she will be on morphine for the pain. I then fell asleep! 
The whole enjoyable day is here if you want to be made truly envious!! Check out the bathroom - uber kitsch with lovebirds wallpaper!! What is it with birds and me!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.