Family Day

Up at 5.15am

Out the door at 6am.

Breakfast in Costa in Haddington at 7am.

A wee walk around North Berwick about 8am.

Collected my brother at Longniddry Station about 9am.

Our mum’s funeral at 10am in Aberlady.

Coffee and scones in Craigielaw Golf Club at 11am, with brother, son, the former Mrs T, 3 cousins and their wives/partner.

Then home.

Aberlady Church is very small, 500 years old, and generally lovely. The churchyard looks out over the Firth of Forth, Fife and 2 golf courses. Beautiful on a sunny, June morning. The family reunion at Craigielaw was a lot of fun with plenty laughs.

My mum endured 7 years of dementia, the last 5.5 years in a care home. For a while she recognised family, but didn’t know why. Then she reached the stage of not recognising us at all.

So, we endured with her.

She was 93. I’d been expecting the phone call from the care home at any time for the last 5 years. 

I suppose it was a good day, all things considered. Bit tiring, mind you.

I got my Blip in North Berwick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.