chiaroscuro

By Chiaroscuro

About Fairy Godmothers, and such ...

While in Perth, Cecile contacted me about a special offer that was about to conclude the following day.
There was not much time to think about it, and it looked very attractive. So, it was easy to say yes and to spend a couple.

Since July 14th when my trusted and beloved Sony Cybershot started to white-out images, I have been making use of a delightful little Sony P&S that Johann uses on his outings with the bike into the bundu.
I really developed admiration and trust for this little fellow, as it has been my companion eversince the Sony has been 'hospitalized'.

At the time when the initial problem with the white-out occured, Cecile consulted the Internet and much to our delight found that there was in fact a recall out on that specific Sony model to have the faulty image sensor device replaced - at no cost to the user.
So the Sony was handed in at the local agent, sent to Cape Town, and after much hoo-ha is still not back.
It came back once, but it took only five images to start whiting-out again, so back it went.

It has now been five months since, and this morning's query about the progress, made me really hot under the collar, as it seems that nobody can give me answers - many words filled with empty promises.
Hopefully the situation will be resolved by next Friday - as the local agent is going to take the trouble to travel to Cape Town to go and see what is going on.

Tragedy struck again, when at the Perth Airshow Lindy accidentally dropped the P&S - in that instant, we could not believed our eyes when this little fellow lay on the tar road, battered and bruised, battery casing door flung open with the two penlites scattered at our feet ...... camera casing coming apart at one corner......

So, this was it, I thought, death by accident.

Later that day, back home, much to our surprise, it still operated as usual and still does to this very day.
I do regard its willingness to perform with much admiration, but also realise that at any moment it can go into the obsolete state.

With this new addition, freshly unpacked and opened from its covers, I can barely wait to put it into action. When all is settled and done, I will apply myself to get acquainted with this new member to the family.
I forgot to mention that included in this deal was a P&S pocket sizer - could not resist!

In the meantime, P&S will have to do the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.