The torch reaches City Hall

I took a break from work to rush down to City Hall and see the flotilla arrive with the Olympic torch. Approaching the river, I could hear the horns of the boats and all around me people started running towards the Thames. I followed suit (literally - there were lots of suits) and found myself a ringside standing point beside the media circus. It was a great atmosphere. The crowd watching was extremely entertaining, too.

I've now zoomed back home to carry on working, but this evening I will be helping to look after the local crowds when the West Norwood Feast hosts an outdoor screen to show the opening ceremony. If you're near, come on over with your picnic blanket. There will be food and drink and lots of fine company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.