Sand up in the bum

Riding the heat wave. What else can you do?

Today I was mostly inside. (Dogs had their walks naturally, but very quick ones, except in the evening when it was bit cooler.) UV radiation is now up to 9 and from tomorrow it’s 10. Is that the max? In Finland it’s in the weather forecast if it’s 4 or 5. They say it’s a big risk. Well, perhaps to ghost white Nordics it is already at that point.

Anyway, today I have taken care of my hydration. I’ve been inside, drunk as much as I possible have managed and visited the toilet all the time. It does have to exit too, right? Is has helped my nausea and headache. I feel much better now. After our evening walk with the dogs we took a swim in the pool like most evenings, and I feel cool (not hot) first time for days. Even when the water in the pool is possibly 25 or 26 already. Or even more. It was like warm milk.

Last night was really hot and people were swimming after midnight. Pool is closed then, but I really can’t blame them for doing that. Of course they made our dogs bark and us wake up and then we had to close our window and then it was way too sweaty to sleep. I think it’s time to sleep with sheets only and pack the duvets away.

Today I spent my day planning our road trip to Finland. It took me over 4 hours to plan the daily legs, find hotels that are dog friendly, and find vets in Estonia. 24 hours to 5 days before we enter Finland our dogs have to have medication against Echinococcus multilocularis given and proven by a vet. It’s a disease that is not in Finland and it’s very important that it will not spread there. It’s all over Europe. It’s dangerous to humans and there’s no good cure. You can get it by eating raw berries where it exists.

Well, trying to find a vet in Estonia was not easy. Vet is loomaarst in Estonian. Estonian sounds much like Finnish, but it’s nothing we could understand unless one has studied the language. In Finnish it’s eläinlääkäri. :-)

So now we have a road plan. Two versions. One with a stay in Warsaw and one skipping the place.  Have 4 loomarst options. 3 in Pärnu and 1 in Tallinn. Have all the information of 3 ferry companies about traveling with dogs. This time the ferry ride will only be about 3 hours, so it’s so much easier for the dogs than the one we took last November.

I feel like I have forgotten something, but luckily there’s still time. And all the hotels should have wifi - naturally. Bed and wifi. What more can you need?

Now we change into another kind of life as we get ready to welcome our visitors. Two “sets” coming before we leave this place. All coming from UK but 3 nationalities. World is so small today. Great to get company!

You know how we usually only take pictures of nice things, beautiful things, crop all the crap out? I hope that I have not given too nice picture of this place we are in. Spain can be lovely and it can be crap. Weather can be fabulous and it can be out there to fry your brain. Beach can look lovely but in real life you have sand up in your bum. You don’t see the sand up in the bum do you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.