Return to the North

By Viking

Poppies

A trip to Lincoln Castle today with sis and C.

I was very disappointed 18 months ago to just miss the poppies display at Windsor Castle and to cheer myself up I bought one of the poppies and had it sent out to NZ.

Today some of the poppies are on display at Lincoln Castle having been donated to the a nation. It was really quite a moving experience seeing them here.

Lincoln is a very special place for me. It is where I trained as a teacher over 30 years ago and where I met the friends that have sustained me through my life thus far. So it was a special trip today In so many different ways.

On top of that I managed to buy Haslet (a traditional Lincolnshire cold meat) a proper Appel pie and some Lincolnshire Poacher cheese - oh and some proper Stilton too ....yum yum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.