Fathers Day

Ernie Warneford 1923 - 1995

Remembering my Dad on Fathers Day.  I have enjoyed looking through old photos picking out a few of my Dad.  Couldn't find any with me and him together unfortunately. 

So I have chosen this one to blip - my Dad is second from the right. I am guessing its taken around1942 / 1943 ( possibly a bit earlier )  and I think its Oswestry where my Dad did his basic training for the Royal Artillery.  After training he was posted to Malta where he was on the " Ack Ack " guns.  He was also Batman for the Colonel.  He has no tattoos on his arms in this photo - but he had some on his return from Malta.   He spent most of his working life in a factory which made mining machinery - he was a mechanical engineer/horizontal borer. He was a hard working Geordie who enjoyed spending time in the local Working Mens Club.  He had three children and five grandchildren. Still missed by all the family.

The weather started off OK and I walked down to the Tesco in the village to pick up the last item of my " Click and Collect " online order - and some fruit.  However on the way home it started raining and it has more or less rained ever since.

Made Chicken and butter bean stew for my tea.  And I have been watching the football - Switzerland V France.  No goals yet.

Steps today - 6,663

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.