Return to the North

By Viking

Jo Cox

As we were driving across the M62 on the day I came back to the UK I was listening to the news on the radio. A local MP had been stabbed and shot in Birstall. As I looked up we were pretty much passing the area that it happened in. Jo Cox, ages 41 and with two young children died of her injuries.

Her death has had a profound effect on a lot of people. She was a young, committed and popular MP who had devoted her life to the service of others (having previously worked for NGO's helping the less fortunate)
The people of Birstall and others either passing through or like me who made a detour to go to the centre of the village have laid their tributes. I thought it might feel mawkish going to look but as I read the cards and messages all I could feel was a profound sense of sadness. That anyone could have such hatred for an individual they didn't even know personally beggars belief.
R.I.P Jo Cox

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.