Burnished brass

I caught these two burnished brass moths Diachrysia chrysitis, in my trap the other night. 
If you look closely the one on the left has the two gold bands that cross the wings joined by a small gold bar making an 'H' shape, the one on the right has two distinct gold bars not joined in any way The one on the left would be known as D.chrysitis f juncta and the one on the right                D. chrysitis f aurea.
Which was fine until recently someone suggested that f juncta was actually a completely different species, the 'Cryptic Burnished brass'  Diachrysia stenochrysis......
At this moment the jury is out, and without DNA it isn't possible to determine if they are different forms of one species or two.
Whatever the outcome I think they are both very beautiful moths and I am delighted they both came to my trap together so I could get this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.