alicemorris97

By alicemorris97

Precious moments

Today was full of precious moments.

Now that I've finished college, I've got a lot more time on my hands, and I have decided that I'm going to visit my family more.

This picture is of my grandad. He'll be 90 this year. I sat and spoke with him for about an hour, and it was so lovely. He shared lots of wisdom and stories from his youth, and I shared my hopes and dreams for the future. It was beautiful. And he was so grateful that I went to spend time with him; the smile on his face was priceless when he wished me 'all the happiness in the world' as I left.

Then I spent some time with dad, before going to visit my aunty. I came with her to pick up her children (unbeknown to them) from school. One of my cousins saw me through her classroom window and once again, her face was priceless; a wide grin spread over her face as she waved manically. She ran out of school and gave me a huge hug. My other cousin (who is of the age where it isn't cool to be seen with your mum in the playground) kind of brushed off my presence, but when I forced him into a hug he soon softened up. I then went home with them for an hour and was shown their homework, ordered to play in the playground (which, despite being swung very high on the huge swing and spinning so fast on the roundabout that I almost felt sick, was quite enjoyable), and spent time just generally being silly with them. These were precious moments.

I've decided that life is very much about these moments. The moments that you won't ever get back, but you can create at any time, if only you choose to create them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.