Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Z is for Zucchini

This is the last day of PontyCyclopes alphabet challenge and I had been wondering all week what to blip for Z. Then this morning I remembered that davesfotos had blipped his courgette flower yesterday, thanks Dave. Well in the UK where I come from, we call them courgettes, but elsewhere they are often known as Zucchini.


The Zucchini is a summer squash and belongs to the Cucurbita pepo species; if you leave them too long they become marrows! They are often green, but other varieties can be deep orange or yellow. The Zucchini is a vegetable which can be cooked or eaten raw; botanically the Zucchini is an immature fruit.


I have enjoyed this challenge very much as it allowed a week for each letter of the alphabet, so thank you PontyCyclopes for producing it; I may now look for another challenge to complete.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.