The Occasional Blipper...

By st3f

Brexit

Since the result of the referendum, my facebook feed has been filled with a lot of emotion: anger, disgust, fear, disappointment, sadness. It surprised me that, while I felt many of these, they were muted. I didn't seem to be as worried as everybody else and I'm trying to figure out why.
I am scared that we will turn out backs on Europe. Although it's possible that we will ignore out neighbours (to our detriment), I don't think this will happen. Even Nigel Farage, post brexit, talked of the importance of forging trade agreements with each of the member states. 
I am scare that this will be an opportunity for those who I distrust to gain power. There was a lot of bigotry and scaremongering in the lead-up to the referendum and I'd hate for this to become the norm in British politics. That would define a nation that I don't want to be part of (or live next-door to).
I am scared that the uncertainty of our future will drive us into recession. There will be some that want a complete and rapid exit from Europe. There will be some that will take the narrow margin of the referendum to indicate that we should partially withdraw: possibly out of the European parliament but still in a common trade area. Until we have an exit plan, businesses face an uncertain future, job security is lessened, spending could drop and we could slip into a deep recession.
Lastly this makes my emigration to Scotland feel more real. I came up here for many reasons. One of which was that politics up here seemed a little kinder and more invested in people and a little less mad. I'm a supported of Scottish Independence: something that just became a lot more of a reality. Although this leads toward something that I want, the knowledge that I may be leaving my home of many years behind me tinges any positivity with a feeling of sadness. It is a time of mourning that feels as real as leaving a lover.
There. Now I'm sad as the rest of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.