Peloton

The peloton coming through Surrey in the Women's Olympic road race this afternoon. I wonder how many of us - apart from the dedicated cyclists - knew much about this word a few weeks ago? I'd heard of it, knew it was a bunch of cyclists, but didn't really understand the tactics of the whole thing. Now I'm learning all about energy conservation and the need for team work etc.

I took Gill back to the spot where I took yesterday's blip. But unlike the good weather for that race, today we were drenched in a thunderstorm. The light just afterwards was brilliant, but it didn't last until the race arrived. We went to the other side of the bridge where the field has to narrow but this gave even less time for a photograph. I toyed with the idea of a panning shot with a smaller lens until I realised I might get one or two at best. So settled for this shot of the whole peloton. I think that's silver medalist Lizzie Armitstead tucked in there near the front (white helmet). She's from Yorkshire you know. Fine county.

It was fun to see the police motorcyclists slapping people's palms as they drove past - a real sense of celebration as well as competition.Thank you for all the nice comments on yesterday's blip. I'm still buzzing from that opening ceremony. If you enjoyed the music that accompanied the forging of those rings at the beginning here's a chance to listen again: And I Will Kiss by Underworld.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.