My bundles of cuteness!

Me with 3 of the chicks!

Woke early and dozed til 8, then got up to check on the last two eggs. One had started hatching last night, so I expected to see it had hatched by the morning. It hadn't. I left it and went indoors to do jobs. Once I'd done a bit of cleaning, I sat down to sort out my bias binding. After I left you last night, I watched a useful video on youtube, so felt ready to tackle it. I managed successfully to do the neck edges and finished it inside by hand stitching. At 10ish Mollie got up. We had another look at chick 5 who hadn't made any more progress. I decided she needed help, so peeled back the shell a bit so that her head was released, then quickly put her back in the incubator. I hate interfering with nature, but she was clearly running out of energy. She lay there breathing heavily, and I went back indoors. I didn't want to interfere any more. My sewing took over the rest of the day. Jon and Henry were expected home from camp at 5 so the veg etc was all prepared so that I could just sew...(and check on my chicks every now and again)

By late afternoon, chick 5 was fluffed out and standing up, ready to join her siblings in the big box. They all seem happy together, and are all slightly different. The picture from left to right is chick 3 (Zorro - she has a little yellow mark) chick 2 (no name) and chick 5 - (Lucky) She is a pretty one, yellow and brown mottled. Just one egg hasn't hatched. I will discard it tomorrow, but 5 healthy chicks so far out of 6 eggs is very good. Now I am hoping I have some girls among them!

The boys got home exhausted. It had rained heavily most of the weekend south of Norwich. Yet we sat in the sun this morning!

A nice roast and I'm now back on the sewing machine. Really hoping to finish it this evening...but if I do, I'll probably blip myself again tomorrow wearing it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.