Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Hunting down the Damselfy

I adore the Dragon and Damselflies.  They challenge me.  Look me straight in the eye and generally take off before the shutter clicks.  

This is a female Common Blue Damselfly that played games with me. She didn't feel like flying far. She's not scared of me and her mouth was full of the remains of some fly she had caught for her lunch.  Settle, poise the camera, fly, chase, settle, allow me to come close and compose the picture and fly again before the camera click.  A while past before she decided the game had worn thin and finally let me get my shot before disappearing to a distant part of the garden.

Damselflies are intelligent. Of that I have no doubt. Their little faces are expressive, teasing, taunting and watching every movement you make. 

They are predators and good eyesight is essential to catch insects on the wing... and to convince this photographer that it is not her that is doing the hunting.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.