mortise the gopher tortoise

Steven and I and the pups took a lovely walk this afternoon at DeSoto memorial and who did we run into? Mortise the Tortoise! We've met this gopher tortoise  before at this park. View him larger ...use the dbl arrows, bottom right corner under the photo. He has the most interesting spiky dinosaur legs and beautiful patterns on his shell. 

Earlier this morning Steven uttered words I love to hear, "get your camera and come outside now!" We had a pair of pileated woodpeckers flitting around. It seemed like they were chasing each other. I've never see them on the ground before, but caught one hoping around the sidewalk today and put a photo in my blipfolio. They are very strange looking and have an odd call too. I heard it once before and thought it was a parrot!  For a short video on pileated woodpeckers -try this link.

I also wrote a long post with many photos about beautiful Wolfe Island, Ontario - where we will be traveling to soon for a long break. Should you like to learn more, go here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.