horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Bit Horse (or I Know Jack)

Saw the police horses waiting on the lights and immediately thought, as I always do when I see the police horses, "I wonder if that's Jack?"

Turns out this time it looks like it is, nearest the camera. I couldn't not blip, given how gorgeous the horses were anyway (love the chestnut, and the fact that the light shows up all the muscle there), but then found out that this is apparently Jack's last Edinburgh horsey patrol, with things moving through to Strathclyde (presumably as part of the police restructuring?). Seemed right to mark a moment such as that.

A day of highs and lows for me. The boiler has packed in (fortunately an engineer with a part is arriving tomorrow afternoon); and Ruby was particularly ill as I went to check on the chooks first thing; but then a not-inconsiderable tax rebate came through the door from HMRC (presumably caused by me being on the wrong temporary tax code when all the job uncertainty was going on at the end of last year and start of this); then got to work and realised I'd left my trousers at home. Sheesh. Coming home, though, I missed/beat the rain showers, and Ruby is not only still with us, but standing and eating. May be a false dawn, but happy still to have her at the moment.

In the middle of all of that saw details of another daft Jan Moir Daily Wail article, as she covered, in her 'From the Sofa' column, the Olympics. It would appear she has a problem with Sharron Davies' face, and then talking about the women's road race finish, praised Lizzie Armitstead's manicured nails and mud less face, before declaring that she was beaten by 'some bitch from Holland.' That 'bitch' being Marianne Vos, one of the greatest female cyclists of all time. A world champion at cyclocross, world and Olympic champion in track cycling, world champion on the road, and now, finally, Olympic champion on the road. If any rider ever deserved it.

Jan Moir. Just some bitch, with a hideous face, from the Daily Wail.

p.s. watching the gymnastics. Last apparatus. Eep! (and I want arms n' abs like these guys...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.