The Watcher

Today I learned that Charlie, a housemate of mine for about two years around 1990, has died. He was a fellow resident in the same house where I happen to live again now. He was a grand fellow who didn't just tell stories. He performed them. He was the first person to tell me about the Stonewall Riots and there's one thing he said that stayed in my mind. He said that as a heterosexual person, I'd never know what it's like to be made love to, and then turn around and return the love in the exact same way. I'd never thought of that and I've never heard it said since. I remember where we were standing when he said it.

Last week a close friend told me that once not long ago, when she was emerging from major surgery, there were more complications in post-op than she fully understood at the time, and she saw a glowing figure watching her, neither male nor female and of no particular race. Just a tall person watching dispassionately and glowing bright. The upshot to me is that we almost lost a very, very fine person. The upshot for her is all a mystery. Of the religious people I've known during life she's a good as they get. Straightforward, non-orthodox, intelligent, and never one to throw something like this around lightly.

Here's a cat I saw as I worked on a house nearby. I don't know its gender and it didn't come close. It just watched me for a little while and then went away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.