Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Buzz off

This bee seemed a bit miffed when the spider decided it was big enough to take it on. The bee was happily necking back nectar inside a gentian when the spider crept up thinking it had won itself a prize. The bee wasn't amused.

None of this was planned when I nipped out front to take a quick picture of the gentians which look beautiful just now. My Blip-life balance is out of kilter and it has been remarked upon by Gill so today was to be the day when I gave it a bit of a rest, particularly after the scare with my eye yesterday (it's still sore).

But there was a bee on the gentian so I thought it would be nice to get a bee too, and in flight, which is a constant challenge. Two hours, two cameras and three lenses later I still wasn't wholly happy with the results, but, having tried all kinds of settings and set ups, I decided to stick at this one which tells a little insect story. Nothing much in our world, but life and death for these creatures.

This one is for Hillyblips because it's her birthday today and she's been producing some cracking macro shots of insects these past few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.