Charming

It being a morning unlike most we have enjoyed in this most inclement of summers, I resolved to stroll into town on a circuitous and scenic route rather than rushing along the main thoroughfares. I felt rather like Pepys, whose dancing master suggested he learn the Coranto. It was performed on tiptoe, with slight jumping steps and many bows and curtsies. Pepys decided it would be 'useful for any gentleman'. This morning, I felt gentlemanly. I linked my hands behind my back and nodded at the people I met. I paused awhile and considered the beauty of the morning and the sunlight dappling the ground below the broad spreading sycamores before continuing on my way, my senses delighted by the day in prospect.

Later, to the Theatre of Moving Pictures to see 'The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie'. Billed as an incisive satire on social mores, I found it a bit unedifying and all rather vulgar. Pip pip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.