Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Wedding preparations

I had to go to Hexham this morning to return the courtesy car and retrieve my own from the garage. The body work looks very nice, but they had forgotten to do the valet, much to their chagrin. I told them I did not mind, since this is something I never have time to do myself, and promised a good score when I fill in the questionnaire for Renault. No discount resulted!



This afternoon we were both in Hexham to collect Mum's new, hugely expensive spectacles. We had to see the technician who was to glaze them. Once the task was established we went off to Hexham Abbey to see an exhibition called In the Footsteps of Bede.

That was when our troubles started. The very pleasant lady guide had difficulty hearing me because the organ was playing. I was sure I knew where it would be, but it would have been churlish to turn away expert help, offered so sincerely.  Not in the Abbey, but in the new adjoining centre. She took us along the nave and through automatic doors.


Well, we should  have gone through the doors. She pressed the button, the doors opened and we followed, but the doors closed on us. I managed to keep Mum on her feet, but one door hit her on her shoulder and her poorly hand. The doors did not respond to my pushing but someone managed to release them.

Mum was shaken. An accident form had to be completed.

When all came to all, the exhibition was in the north transept, where I expected it to be! It was also very disappointing (to be polite about the quality of the images).

In the Abbey, Sheila and her team were putting the finishing touches to flower arrangements for tomorrow's wedding. I've chosen this picture because you can see through the screen to the choir stalls and the altar. The colours of the flowers are beautiful and I hope the bride was happy when she came to see them later on.

Back to the opticians: there was an error in the lenses from the manufacturer and they have to be returned.

Ho, hum. You win some, you lose some.

We called to see Lesley and Steve because I had some of Lesley's competition prints to return. We were given tea and two freshly frozen salmon steaks (caught by Steve yesterday) and a garden plant to fill a big gap from Lesley.  A better end than a middle of the day.

PS I've been driving a nippy little Note all week. When I started my Scenic I realised just how heavy the clutch is. No wonder I sometimes think it is hard work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.