Dotty

By Dotty

Chilcot

Or me & Ed (then Minister for Culture).

An amazing day spent in the Palace of Westminster. Awe-inspiring, humbling, exciting, fascinating, etc... A seat in the West Gallery overlooking the House of Commons chamber watching PMQs just after the publication of the long-awaited Chilcot report. Watching over the great & good & not-so-much-my-favourites, a cheeky wave to Angus, fighting dizzying vertigo but hanging on in there helped by the lovely Mhairi patting my hand, and watching history unfold.

Then lunch on the Terrace, a training course on tabling parliamentary questions, then back to the House to see Calum (and Ed) speaking in a debate outside the main chamber. (If you don't see your MP in the chamber - it really doesn't mean they are not working: usually quite the opposite).

It's a day I'll never forget: I've never felt so privileged or lucky to be doing the job I'm doing, and I can't imagine that feeling ever changing. I hope that never changes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.