Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Short-Clawed Otter

I didn't take many images today, as it was my plan to have a day of dragon flight photography practice. I first of all collected a few bits and pieces to make sure that I have something in the can. As for the dragon flight session, it was a big fat zero, but I wrote a page of text on what I learned, but I think I'll save that talk for dragon week.

After calling it a day, I was walking the path back to my motorbike, when I saw this huge otter type creature, bounding towards me. It obviously hadn't yet seen me, so I quickly took a knee. It got to within five feet before it froze in its tracks. I knew that I had only a second or two, so I shot and focused on the fly. I managed five images, but only the last was close to focus. I didn't quite get the eyes, but the nose was in and I was very happy with my very first truly wild mammal blip.

The short clawed otter (Aonyx cinerea) is currently listed as endangered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). So quite a find!

As for dragon week, it will happen, but I have a lot of planning and research to do first. Maybe in a week or two when I am ready.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.