One Way

The roads have conspired against me today!
I'd arranged to meet Mrs S at Newport Pagnell Services on the M1 to give them our old car seat and to get back our useful-keep-baby-in-one-place-and occupied-for-half-an-hour-baby-activity-centre which my nephew will soon be imprisoned in enjoying!
They were coming down from Nottingham to London so would be on the Southbound side. For me to get to the Southbound side would have meant a forty minute detour so I checked there was a footbridge across and headed for the Northbound side.
A mistake!
I got ridiculously lost in Newport Pagnell and had to stop and ask a very helpful policeman who was doing a roadside speed-check! I think he thought it was a bit odd when I pulled over to ask him for directions!! Of course I was doing a law-abiding 30mph - my Speed Awareness course is still fresh in my mind!
He said there are barriers on all entrances to the Services except for the motorway entrances. Arse! Oh dear!
So it was miles back to the junction of the M1 that I'd already been over twice! Onto the M1 Northbound and into the Services.
All to a really ego-boosting chorus of "Why are we lost Mummy? Why are we going back this way? Do you know where you're going Mummy? Why is it taking so long?" from the Little Misses.
Obviously I realised as soon as I got on the M1 that I was going to have to go up to the next junction before I could get off the motorway and start heading home so there was the forty minute detour I was trying to avoid. Arse! How annoying!!!
And this was the sign that told me I had no choice.....
But it was lovely to see the Family B as ever, my latte was yummy and it gave me my second Blip for the August Challenge
I've never done a challenge before but I thought this one looked good and if I don't do it there's a danger of August Blips consisting of nothing but wheatfields, hay bales and fields of stubble!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.