Into The Unknown

By lindastuff

Healthy auction

Firstly I apologies for the poor composition here- I was rather shy about taking the photo and a man suddenly appeared in front of my clear view!. I am in Cottells Auction Hut in Wareham where every Thursday local produce is auctioned off. I wanted to post this image as modern times may soon see the demise of this fascinating auction.
Groups of locally grown fruit, veg, flowers and thousands of assorted and subtlety coloured eggs are auctioned off in small lots- for instance there were bunches of rhubarb, a marrow etc. the auctioneer is sitting on the podium above the pink cloth.
The large shed is mainly full of locals and it feels like going back in time. Hugh Fernley Whittingstall should go there! ... Maybe he has

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.